Blueberry Jam

Well…we went blueberry picking one more time. This time two of my teenagers came with me, needless to say we ended up with a boat full of berries. I guess they want more pie.aug 2017 011

When you have access to as many fresh blueberries as I have you’ll want to make a batch or two of blueberry jam.

For one batch you’ll need:

  • 6 c blueberries
  • 1 package fruit pectin
  • 4 c sugar

Put the blueberries in a big pot and crush them. Add the pectin, stir well and bring to a boil stirring occasionally. Add the sugar and stir it in, bring this back to a boil stirring gently. Boil hard for 1 minute and remove from heat, keep stirring for a couple more minutes.

aug 2017 002

When I made this batch today it made 5 1/2 cups, I usually try to have an assortment of jars, some to give away, some to store in the pantry for eating later and sometimes there’s even a little left over that the family can eat right away. 🙂aug 2017 007

Bottle the jam. Boil the jars in a hot water bath for 10 minutes, this is not totally necessary but my jams always keep better if I remember this step.

This jam is great on toast, on pancakes and waffles too, and really good in a bowl of homemade yogurt or vanilla ice cream.

 

 

2 comments

Leave a comment